Themes and Special Panels

Themes and Special Panels

For each section, a set of invited convenors, specialists in the respective fields, will assist in maintaining a high scholarly standard for the conference. Convenors will select individual papers for presentation at WSC 2023 and nominate session chairs. The convenors will also be in charge of selecting and editing papers for publication in the proceedings.

Regular Sections (Themes)

 
Sections Convenors
Veda, वेदः Hans Hock (Chair): hhhock@illinois.edu
Shrikant Bahulkar: shrikantbahulkar@gmail.com
Joanna Jurewicz: j.jurewicz@uw.edu.pl
Stephanie Majcher: stephanie.majcher@anu.edu.au
Linguistics, भाषाशास्त्रम् Jan Houben (Chair): johannes.houben@ephe.psl.eu
Brendan Gillon: brendan.gillon@mcgill.ca
Vyākaraṇa, व्याकरणम् Malhar Kulkarni (Chair): malhar@hss.iitb.ac.in
Saroja Bhate: bhatesaroja@gmail.com
Dipti Tripathi: diptitripathi999@gmail.com
Epics, रामायणं महाभारतं च Adam Bowles (Chair): a.bowles1@uq.edu.au
Simon Brodbeck: brodbecksp@cardiff.ac.uk
James Hegarty: hegartyj@cardiff.ac.uk
Wendy Phillips-Rodriguez: wjp26@cantab.net
Purāṇas, पुराणानि Raj Balkaran (Chair): raj.balkaran@gmail.com
McComas Taylor: mccomas.taylor@anu.edu.au
Satyanarayan Chakraborty: satyanarayan01@yahoo.co.in
Tantra Studies, आगमास्तन्त्रं च Michael Slouber (Chair): michael.slouber@wwu.edu
Mrinal Kaul: mrinal.kaul@stx.oxon.org
Judit Törzsök: judit.torzsok@ephe.psl.eu
Ritual Studies, विध्यनुष्ठानविमर्शः Libbie Mills (Chair): libbie.mills@utoronto.ca
Finnian Gerety: finnian_moore-gerety@brown.edu
Ute Huesken: huesken@uni-heidelberg.de
Poetry, Drama and Aesthetics, काव्यमलङ्कारश्च Daniele Cuneo (Chair): danielecuneo@hotmail.com
Elisa Ganser: elijanart@yahoo.it
Shonaleeka Kaul: shonaleeka@gmail.com
Hari Dutt Sharma: hari_sanskrit@rediffmail.com
Rajendran, C: crajenin@yahoo.com
Scientific Literature, वैज्ञानिकं वाङ्मयम् Clemency Montelle: clemency.montelle@canterbury.ac.nz
Kim Plofker: plofkerk@union.edu
Aditya Kolachana: aditya@iitm.ac.in
Buddhist Studies, बौद्धविद्या Mark Allon (Chair): mark.allon@sydney.edu.au
Lata Mahesh Deokar: hodpali@unipune.ac.in
Mahesh Deokar: hodpali@unipune.ac.in
Jason Neelis: jneelis@wlu.ca
Jaina Studies, जैनविद्या Eva de Clercq (Chair): ev.declercq@ugent.be
Ana Bajzelj: abajzelj@ucr.edu
Vaiṣṇavism and Śaivism, वैष्णवमतं शैवमतं च David Buchta (Chair): David_Buchta@brown.edu
Christopher Austin: christopher.austin@dal.ca
Elaine Fisher: emf@stanford.edu
Philosophy, दर्शनानि, तत्त्वशास्त्रम् Kengo Harimoto (Chair): k.harimoto@gmail.com
Purushottama Billimoria: pb1@unimelb.edu.au
Somdev Vasudev: somapati@gmail.com
Diwakar Acharya: diwakar.acharya@all-souls.ox.ac.uk
History, Art and Architecture, Epigraphy, डतिहासः कलाः स्थापत्यमभिलेखशास्त्रं Annette Schmiedchen (Chair): annette.schmiedchen@asa.hu-berlin.de
Mike Skinner: mcskin@u.washington.edu
Sanskrit and Regional Languages (including Southeast Asia), संस्कृतं प्रदेशभाषाश्च Andrea Acri (Chair): andrea.acri@ephe.psl.eu
Sanskrit Pedagogy, संस्कृतशिक्षाशास्त्रम् Sadananda Das (Chair): spokensanskrit@gmail.com
Antonia Ruppel: antonia.ruppel@ling-phil.ox.ac.uk
Modern Sanskrit Writings, आधुनिकं संस्कृतसाहित्यम् Deven Patel (Chair): devenp@sas.upenn.edu
Chandra Bhushan Jha: cbjha1@gmail.com
Robert Zydenbos: zydenbos@uni-muenchen.de
Computational Sanskrit and Digital Humanities, संस्कृतं विज्ञानतान्त्रिकी च Gérard Huet (Chair): gerard.huet@inria.fr
Amba Kulkarni: ambapradeep@gmail.com
Manuscriptology, हस्तलेखविज्ञानम् Nirmala Kulkarni (Chair): nirmalakulkarni@gmail.com
Saraju Rath: sarajurath@yahoo.com
Law and Society, धर्मशास्त्रमर्थशास्त्रं च Donald Davis (Chair): drdj@austin.utexas.edu
Timothy Lubin: lubint@wlu.edu
Yoga and Āyurveda, योगायुवेदौ Jason Birch (Chair): letusconnect@hotmail.com
Philipp Maas: philipp.a.maas@gmail.com
Gender and Sanskrit Studies, संस्कृतं पुंस्त्वं स्त्रीत्वं च Iris Iran Farkondeh: iran_farkhondeh@yahoo.fr
Saran Suebsantiwongse: ss2380@cam.ac.uk

 

Special Panels

Section Special Panel Title Chair
Veda Maitrāyaṇī Saṁhitā: its history, background and relation to the other Vedic texts Kyoko Amano, Kyoto University

 

 Veda Yāska’s theology: classifying and defining deities in the Late Vedic Age Yūto Kawamura, University of Oxford, and Paolo Visigalli, Shanghai Normal University
Linguistics Uncovering Sanskrit syntax John Lowe, University of Oxford
Epics The Mahābhārata and later Pāñcarātra Vishwa Adluri, Hunter College, City University of New York
Adam Bowles, The University of Queensland
Epics Cosmology, cosmography and time in the Sanskrit epics and purāṇas Ruth Satinsky, University of Lausanne
Adam Bowles, The University of Queensland
Philosophy History of Mīmāṃsā
formally;
Towards a history of the Mīmāṃsā system
What kind of “Vedic exegesis” is Mīmāṃsā?
 

Elisa Freschi, Austrian Academy of Science
Hugo David, École française d’Extrême-Orient

 Philosophy The Yuktidīpikā: forging a place for Sāṅkhya in Indian intellectual history not proceeding for 2023
 Philosophy Historicising Mīmāṃsā commitments Purushottama Bilimoria, University of Melbourne
Sanskrit and Regional

Languages

Translation of Sanskrit literature into Thai: Reintroduction of Sanskrit studies to Thai society not proceeding for 2023
 Sanskrit and Regional

Languages

New reflections on South and Southeast Asian Sanskrit epigraphy Amarjiva Lochan, University of Delhi
Sanskrit and Regional

Languages

Sanskrit and Indonesia Robert Zydenbos, Ludwig- Maximilians-Universität München
Andrea Acri, École française d’Extrême-Orient
Yoga and Āyurveda Rājayoga, combining philological research with ethnography, modern history and political studies not proceeding for 2023
 Yoga and Āyurveda Soma, recitation and yoga not proceeding for 2023
Gender Mahila vakyartha sabha and Kavayitri-sangama not proceeding for 2023

 

International Association of Sanskrit Studies

Conference Venue